A Brief Look at the Australian School System

Schools General

The Australian education system offers primary, secondary and tertiary education.


Years spent in Schools in general lasts for 13 years for the levels of preparatory to senior secondary. School is required by law until a child reaches the age of 16. The kinds of schools in Australia include state or government schools, non-government schools and schools anchored on educational philosophies like the Montessori and Steiner methods. All schools in general must be registered with the state or territory education department and are required to be compliant with government requirements in terms of the schools’ facilities and teacher qualifications.

Australian schools in general, do more than just teach kids. School trains them for life’s challenges, enhancing basic skills like communication, discipline and respect for others as well as for themselves.

Schools offer a wide curriculum in the essential learning areas, particularly science, arts, English, mathematics, studies of society, the environment, technology, health as well as physical education.

Australians have a firm belief in the benefits of a good general education, and instilling values of teamwork, self-expression and personal development that happen both inside as well as outside the classroom learning environment. Australian, students in schools will enjoy a varied and general learning setting that is enriching on an individual basis, is highly educational, and develops the skills and qualities required in a rapidly changing world.


The Australian Schools System


School education is the same across all of Australia with only little deviations between territories and states. School education is obligatory between the age of 6 and 16.

General School education takes 13 years and is comprised of:

Primary schools: This takes 7 years to complete, beginning with Kindergarten all the way to Year 6 or 7.

Secondary schools: This takes 4 years, typically from Years 7 to 10 or 8 to 10.

Senior secondary school: This level takes 2 years, particularly Years 11 and 12.


Australian Qualifications Framework


The Australian schools system is differentiated from many other countries by the Australian Qualifications Framework or AQF. The AQF was founded in 1995 and is a nationwide plan that covers qualifications from the collegiate education level as well as to the school-leaving certificate; the Senior Secondary Certificate of Education.

It has 10 levels and connects schools, vocational and university education credentials into one nationwide system. This system permits one to move without difficulty from one level of study to another and from one institution to a different one provided you comply with student visa necessities. It permits option and alternatives in career planning. Qualifications in the AQF help one for further general study and a career.


A General High Standard of Learning


Australian schools are among the best institutions in the world. This is due to the following qualities it possesses:

  • Classes are small often with a maximum of 30 pupils.
  • Instructors are all university-trained, capable teachers and expert teachers in subject areas
  • Australian schools facilities observe a high standard which includes cutting edge technology with all schools having computers and general access to the World Wide Web
  • Australian schools have programs tailored for gifted students and high achievers
  • There are ‘High Achievement’ programs which allow exceptional students to study university-level subjects for future credit
  • There are general individual learning programs for pupils who need extra learning support.
  • There is a general strict quality assurance framework where schools must be compliant with standards.


The Australian Schools General Curriculum


The schools’ curriculum in Australia prepares you for your general future. Schools strive to mold students into self-determined and successful learners, creative persons, and pro-active and informed Australians. The general goal is to give them all the knowledge, skills, and wherewithal to flourish in a globalised workplace. Beginning from Kindergarten to Year 12, Australian schools general focus is giving fairness and equal opportunity for each and every student, and aiming for excellence in every area of education.


Teaching Modes and Assessment Techniques


A diversity of teaching techniques are employed in Australian schools.  Group projects and presentations, visual presentations, teacher-directed learning, student research, e-learning in addition to interactive classrooms are among the methods used.

An assortment of assessment techniques are used to gauge student results.  Group assignments, individual research projects, oral and visual presentations, technology use, webcast presentations, in addition to the standard class tests and assignments are all measuring tools used. National and state testing programs make certain standards are complied with in general in all the schools.


General School Qualifications


Upon conclusion of senior secondary school or Years 11 and 12, individuals take tests and get an official certificate of qualification. The certificate’s name varies inside Australia's state-based education systems, however, they are recognised by all Australian universities, higher education as well as vocational education and training institutions, in addition to various international institutions.

Each state government oversees the school system in their state. They provide support thru funds and guidelines for their schools. Private and public schools exist in every state. The curriculum in every state or school may be different but the learning areas are uniform.

The national government gives the funds for universities in all the states. Everyone is autonomous in their governance, setting their courses and general content. In general, a university course takes three or four years of study. For continuity, employers use general agreed courses and results to set standards of training observed for employment.